The village is situated in the District of Rimavská Sobota. There are assumptions that
the village has been established in 13th century and until the beginning of 15th century
it was divided into two parts - the Lower Padarovce and Upper Padarovce. The Lower
Padarovce, also known as Small Padarovce, died out in 16th century.
The village was originally owned by the family of Driencansky (Derencsény), later it had
various owners such as Muránsky family, Koháry family or Coburg family. The exact dates
of the ownership are not known. The village was joint to Hungary from 1938 until 1945.
The old local inhabitants are the best source to find out some crucial historical facts.
They say that people in the past were occupied by farming and agriculture, the area was
full of fruit trees and skillful craftsmen produced local pottery.
The historical coats of arms has grape leafs theme which gives an idea about the local
wine industry. The present coats of arms are very similar to the historical version
and also display wine theme. It is very unique symbol which has not been found in any
other village producing wine.
The local stamp dating from 18th century also pictures wine barrel, grape knife and
bunch of grapes. The lower part of this symbol displays the
name of the village in Hungarian language - PADAR. The stamp imprint dating from 1865
and 1866 was found on several historical documents.
The local stamp was used until early 20th century and was slightly modified in the mid
19th century. It contained a short text saying GEMEINDE PADÁR and the stamp imprint was
found on the document dating from 1866.